Heart of Calypso, entry 1

Society
Project-Asylum Corp.
Revan The Nightbird Evenstar
Journal of Revan Evenstar,
Entry 1

I have never written a journal entry before, but I must start now. I must record everything that has happened yesterday, as clearly as I can remember it, because it is the day when the world I knew was torn asunder. My mind is bursting with questions, and there is an unknown blaze, raging in my soul, driving me to search for answers, to find some way of forestalling the impending calamity. There are many things I don’t understand in all that was told to me, but I am certain there are clues that will prove vital. I must not miss anything. Now, how did it all start? Ah yes...

It was near high noon, I was prospecting in my favorite forest. Grand, majestic mountains can be seen on one side, and a deep, gently flowing river heard on the other. A light fog still hung beneath the canopy, and some dew left on the foliage got through my armor. It was peaceful and invigorating, that is, until the inexplicable happened. Lightning flickered over my prospecting display; it sizzled and popped as I let it fall to the ground. It was dead. As I looked up, thick fog was rolling in all around me and in a moment, I was swallowed. My radar, locator, and even helmet display, one by one their lights faded. My visor fogged up when the ventilator shut down, so I removed my helmet. The fog smelled of ozone, and was charged with electricity; all the hair on my face tingled. I wasn’t so much feeling scared as inconvenienced. After all, Calypso’s weather had only just begun to stabilize after Typhoon’s impact, and electromagnetic storms are far from rare. Still, I’d never heard of one strong enough to shut down heavily insulated armor electronics, nor one in the form of a fog.