N00b towers still exist

syntax

Guardian
syntax error
Logged in to do the thing. I typically check the hof list when I start mining b/c if there's a tower on the list I mine more conservatively.

Noticed there was a 21k tower. A HUGE congrats to knife party :yay:. I had actually just done a vault run with him, so I knew him. He had only been mining for a few days, noob equipment, no skills; he was in AU, and I warned him that was an expensive way to get his feet wet mining. Holy shit was I wrong, lol.

I don't want to detract from his achievement by venting, but this does paint a very clear picture of how the game's mechanics work. It's dumb luck, nothing more. I have been mining for 13 years, burned through thousands of dollars, broken hundreds of D-class in AU, FOMA, etc; never gotten more than a 1.5k hof. Turns out skills and equipment are completely irrelevant.

So take note everyone just getting started, big HOFs happen at all skill levels!

So there have been quite a few more since I posted this. There had been speculation that MA had nerfed the noob towers due to complaints from higher level players, but there have been at least 5 or 6 more that myself and some friends have documented, including the most recent 41k.

If it was just the one, I would say it was just a very rare lucky occurrence, but now it's clear that MA has changed something.

Noon towers have always been around.

I use to make this mistake.

I wouldn't take everything at face value.

Last edited:
Could be. Might also be a psychological mechanism. Give people a big payout early on and they think that's the way the game works.

This is a good thing even if it sting and hurt old players. Im sure some big hofs are part of the 90% return cycle and some clearly arn't. Noob towers are like the mulmum #1 ath. Right time right place and here it comes.

Noon towers have always been around.

I use to make this mistake. I wouldn't take everything at face value.

It seems like bigger hof 's are back