The idiocy of MA and textures

Ace Flyster

Marauder
Dave Ace Flyster
I am not a programmer so could someone please explain to me, how textures get screwed?

Not new ones, but existing?

I had in my head something like this.

new coat {texture appearance, red = 23, blue = 54 etc}

{Texture appearance, Red amount, blue amount, etc}
(
Red = blah
blue = blah
)

This would never ever screw up other textures.

I am very confused. Isnt texture just a function that is called with parameters to show?

Rgds

Ace

P.S. i reserve the right to be completely and utterly wrong.

I think it has more to do with the game design field than the coders but something conflicted.

In my days or rpg creations, Textures werent that simple. They are generally map files and then coordinates that reference thosr map files. It is easy to get them out of sequence.

No need to add to the vu day bitchfest, they'll sort it out.

Well I demand a cake then.

cake.jpg

Materials is one of those areas of game development you want to do once in a games lifetime and then just lock that door forever and drop the key down a deep deep well. But you actually have to keep going back to that system over and over to maintain it. Its very easy to break on all most all levels either on the individual instance calls, in the database or the main functions, not to mention that its heavily integrated into the inventory system which furthers this already fevered nightmare to greater levels.

If its anything like the systems i have worked on it will probably be solved in a day or two, i wouldnt worry.

Last edited:
So bottom line....not that simple.....damn!!!

Rgds

Ace

Seeing how textures are overwriting the item textures of the objects below them it would appear to be a complex issue in code and not a resource file misplacement/mispointer.