Noob deciding on setup

Detritus

Sel-requested Deactivation
Detritus the Troll
Hello everyone, I pre-apologize for the ensuing wall of text. I just started playing and it seems to me that no decision in this game should be made lightly, so I'm trying to read and research as much as I can. To this end I'm trying to determine what type of weapon setup I want to focus on. I want to play economically, but I don't want to make a religion out of it.

So far my favorite is the power fist, it's so much fun to run around and just hit stuff to death. However, I have some concerns in the long term. I've familiarized myself with Entropedia.info. From an economic standpoint, this game really seems to steer you towards laser weaponry.

I've read all of the arguments on both sides of the DPP equation, and I do believe this is important. Regardless of opinions on how it impacts your loot, there's an undeniable mathematical truth that higher DPP = more kills for the same PED.

As I look at all of the power fist offerings, my concerns are that the more economical ones all seem to be limited (L) items. To me this creates a potential supply issue, on top of the fact that the extra markup that you have to pay for these (over and over again) would arguably ruin the economy of the weapon anyway. All of the unlimited versions of these seem to have fairly low DPP by comparison - though it appears I can boost this a bit with a proper amplifier.

So I suppose my questions are:

How low is too low? From what I can tell there's a coveted 3+ DPP that seems difficult to achieve without a huge investment, but is 2.8 still ok? 2.7? Is power fist a bad idea overall?

I plan to also use laser since having some range would be useful, but I would like my primary weapon to be something of the smashy-bashy variety. :D

Cheers

Hi

I been doing fine with 2.8 base DPP and at least 2.9DPP amped.