Vive - Rift or Other

moondog

Stalker
Society
Stockholm Syndrome
Charley Moondog 1969
Ok So I have been working abroad for a couple of years and I am due to return to my native UK at Christmas. When I took this job I promised to reward myself with a VR headset and new gaming PC to run it. I have researched the PC and I know what I want.

My problem is, I was always going to get the Oculus Rift as there has obviously been development on this unit with EU. However is this still the best VR unit to choose for EU, I have just been offered a VIVE set up by a friend but I do not know what it's compatibility with EU is. Is either one better for EU or is there a unit that would work even better.

The whole VR thing in EU seems to have gone quiet over the last year. Is anyone out there actually running EU through any VR headset on a regular basis, if so please could you comment here on pros, cons, usability etc.

Regards

Moondog

Interesting - does that mean nobody is using VR in EU at the moment, or nobody wants to talk about it, or it is that good that anyone using it is too busy to read the forumns ????????????????

VR for a moving FPS like this one will just make you ill from motion sickness.

VIVE is far better than Oculus Rift, but I wouldn't use either for this type of game.

Hi Aio,

Thank you for the response, I was actually thinking that the motion sickness issue is why my friend is trying to sell his Vive.

Regards

Moondog

I have the HTC Vive and use it for playing games, including a popular MMO space game, that have been designed specifically for virtual reality. The motion sickness isn't an issue at all for me; which I attribute to two things: 1. most people get used to motion inside VR after a while, and 2. most games/VR experience developers are very sensitive to the issue of motion sickness and have designed their games to minimize any issues.