backing while firing worth it?

Poorboy

Hatchling
Max Poorboy Power
I'm very new to the game, so I figure I'd ask the silly question: Is backing away from a mob while attacking worth doing? It seems that way to me, even when the mob gets within range. For instance, the Drones I shoot at seem to return fire less frequently when I back up than when I stay still. But, I heard in chat that backing up is a waste of time and only noobs do it. I could be very wrong about this and was wondering if anyone has taken the time to study it. Thanks.

Yes, backing up while shooting to stay out of danger is worth doing.

only as long as the mob is not near you yet. i dont think you gain much, if anything at all, if the mob is already hitting you and you still move back (we are not talking about kite hunting where you dont get any damage at all)

I'm very new to the game, so I figure I'd ask the silly question: Is backing away from a mob while attacking worth doing? It seems that way to me, even when the mob gets within range. For instance, the Drones I shoot at seem to return fire less frequently when I back up than when I stay still. But, I heard in chat that backing up is a waste of time and only noobs do it. I could be very wrong about this and was wondering if anyone has taken the time to study it. Thanks.

Backing up is good until they start hitting you, at that point it no longer matters as you are in their range.
If the mob your attacking is a melee mob, then they have to get close to you to hit. If you have enough range on your gun with a fairly decent reload, then that means you may get one or two more shots in before it reaches you.