PlanetCalypsoForum.com :: Entropia Universe Discussion and Resources
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Prowler Lefty's Avatar
    Joined
    Mar 2009
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Female
    Location
    Billy's Spaceship Afterworld
    Avatar
    Medb Lefty Lucy
    Society
    Calypso Rescue Team
    Posts
    1,490
    Images
    2

    Leave C++ updates to the OS

    Client Loader fails to update Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable 2015. Perhaps this function is better left to the operating system?
    .... just one man's opinion

  2. #2
    How you want to force your OS to install new C++ Redistributable 2015 ?

  3. #3
    Elite forgo's Avatar
    Joined
    Apr 2006
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    US
    Avatar
    Forgo Forgorth Lundain
    Society
    Guess Who
    Posts
    3,178
    Blog Entries
    1
    Images
    272
    If you are a 32 bit player then this is inevitable.

    Moore's law is becoming increasingly important to understand.

    In a world of technology, everyone must budget for the tech they need to stay connected. It is a consistent drain on our lives and needs perpetual improvement and funding. The moment we decide to stop upgrading, is the moment we get left behind. This is the world we live in today. Our tech budgets are now more important than our vehicle budgets.

    This will only get worse as technology gets even better much faster than we have seen.

    I hope you find a solution, but I can almost guarantee waiting on one to fit old systems is going to be harder and harder to come by.

  4. #4
    Prowler Billy Jean Ruby's Avatar
    Joined
    Mar 2014
    Location
    ROCKtropia
    Avatar
    Billy Jean Ruby
    Society
    Factory of Fun
    Posts
    1,682
    Images
    25
    For many years now I'm installing MS Visual Studio to every system I setup (and are dozens of them)! Then letting windows update to current versions.That's concern VB libraries, NET Framework, C++ libraries etc None of those had any issue or a problem after that nomatter what software needed to be installed on them!
    I suggest you to install MS related software (Visual Studio - Net Framework - DirectX etc) from the initial setup, even if it seems unneccesary at the beggining. Believe me, you will need, if not all, some of these libraries to be installed in your system for sure. This will saved you in many occassions.

  5. #5
    Slayer
    Become a premium member today and enjoy enhanced PlanetCalypsoForum features!
    Few Scars's Avatar
    Joined
    Aug 2009
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    Arkadia
    Avatar
    Bjorn Bjorn Longstaff
    Society
    Freelancer
    Posts
    7,204
    Blog Entries
    6
    Images
    13
    Mine automatically updated in the middle
    of a patch a few weeks ago!
    "Scars mark the journey through life..."
    Starfinder XXI: Warp Transport Service (WTS) Calypso and Arkadia, Total kick arse SI 64000
    Buying: Umbranoid Paste Pot 1500Ped
    Buying: Earth Globe Lamp, 1500Ped.
    Celeste North Shop 13: Deep Space Supplies: Arkadian items for sale!
    Darrell "Dimebag" Lance Abbott (August 20, 1966 December 8, 2004) R.I.P.
    Jeff Hanneman (January 31, 1964 May 2, 2013) R.I.P.

  6. #6
    Old Alpha Detritus's Avatar
    Joined
    Sep 2016
    Avatar
    Detritus the Troll
    Posts
    739
    Images
    16
    You can't leave this to the O/S. The runtime library as a dependency is normally (and always should be) installed as a merge module by the application installer. Your application wouldn't run without it.

    It has nothing to do with the bit width or Moore's law.
    Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it. - Terry Pratchett

  7. #7
    Old Alpha Dalas's Avatar
    Joined
    Apr 2006
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    Haugesund, Norway
    Avatar
    Luke Dalas Cambridge
    Society
    Death Unlimited
    Posts
    966
    Images
    778
    Ok, all this talk about C++ distributable blah blah, but WHAT DO WE DO IF WE CAN'T LOG IN DUE TO BLACK SCREEN?!

  8. #8
    Old Alpha theProphet's Avatar
    Joined
    Mar 2006
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    Austria / Vienna
    Avatar
    Prophet the Prophet from Planet Zen
    Society
    Natural Born Killers
    Posts
    921
    Images
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalas View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Ok, all this talk about C++ distributable blah blah, but WHAT DO WE DO IF WE CAN'T LOG IN DUE TO BLACK SCREEN?!
    ask support to move you to another location and see if that fixes the issue. GL!
    Free from desire, you realize the mystery. Caught in desire, you see only the manifestations. Yet mystery and manifestations
    arise from the same source. This source is called darkness. Darkness within darkness. The gateway to all understanding. 道德經 老子
    Eyes closed -.-

  9. #9
    Alpha
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    Austria
    Avatar
    Edward MrEddie James
    Society
    SHOOT N LOOT
    Posts
    692
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalas View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Ok, all this talk about C++ distributable blah blah, but WHAT DO WE DO IF WE CAN'T LOG IN DUE TO BLACK SCREEN?!
    Didnt see that issue ever....did you also have similar things in past?

    Were you able to login before this update??

    If you were able to login before the last update maybe a portion could also be related to your video card in a way?

    ----

    and WHEN do you get the black screen...when you press Launch ? --> if so..you can access the tools section in Client loader right?

    -->then go to Tools and clear the cache and reset graphics....->uncheck all planets in Download section...

    then try to reload it...

    GL,
    Eddie

  10. #10
    Old Alpha Dalas's Avatar
    Joined
    Apr 2006
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    Haugesund, Norway
    Avatar
    Luke Dalas Cambridge
    Society
    Death Unlimited
    Posts
    966
    Images
    778
    Quote Originally Posted by Edward-James View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Didnt see that issue ever....did you also have similar things in past?

    Were you able to login before this update??

    If you were able to login before the last update maybe a portion could also be related to your video card in a way?

    ----

    and WHEN do you get the black screen...when you press Launch ? --> if so..you can access the tools section in Client loader right?

    -->then go to Tools and clear the cache and reset graphics....->uncheck all planets in Download section...

    then try to reload it...

    GL,
    Eddie
    Support sent. Nothing similar in the past, no. Able to log in before update, yes.

    Can access Tools, it is indeed after pressing Launch. Have tried resetting. Clearing Cache is no longer an option. Unchecking all downloads doesn't work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Follow Planet Calypso on Twitter  Follow Planet Calypso on Facebook