Chug's Tale.

Hurrikane

Slayer
Society
GloryHound Irregulars
Oscar Hurrikane SkyQuake
Chug's Tale: From Law to Outlaw, By Chug Manoc.

Introduction:

Hey, I'm Chug. Those amongst you with perception may have figured that if I'm writing this, I gotta still be alive out there somewhere. Well, I am and I ain't. Sorry for being cryptic but maybe you'll work out why by the end. Til then, let me tell you all about myself.

I was born in Mexico, to a Norwegian father and Mexican mother. I was going to be a musician, but a brush with the law (hey, musicians need alchohol and that warehouse looked unguarded) sent me to military academy, and from there I progressed into the OffWorld Forces. With the infinity of Space in front of me, a screaming crowd didn't seem important anymore.

Within four years I was a pilot, and patrolled Earth's borders with the OffWorld Police. After a year and a half I was given promotion to the OffWorld Space Corps, where my duties involved deep-space reconnaissance and smuggler intercepts. I call it the OffWorld Space Corps, but there were five changes of identity and management while I was there, and many more since; whatever it is called, it's the Armies of the Allied Earth nations.

I flew for the AAE for seven years in total. Seven was just about enough.

I'd joined because I'd had to, and got myself interested enough to get my ass into space, but the glamour faded pretty quick. When I saw cargoes impounded but not recorded, and decisions made to avoid one fleet and search another for reasons I knew to be corrupt, I began to get the idea to leave. The pay wasn't enough to save and make a go of it. The cheapest ship out there, planet-to-planet capable, was still more than I earned in ten years. Home was out; without Ma and Pa alive Lazaro Cardenas held little attraction. So the plan must be to steal away, with ship and crew, and find some rock to sit on.