Real Life Account Names on PCF?

Wistrel

Elite
Society
Entropia Pioneers
Wistrel (Wisty) Chianti
I heard a story that this recently happened on World of Warcraft's forums. ie the game company decided to associate everyone's forum accounts with their game accounts and publish private information publicly such as real life identities alongside forum posts.

As I understand it, the reasoning was to put a stop to bad behavior...

It was never a concern when the main forum was run by players but now FPC run the show, this could in theory happen.

I'd like to ask FPC, will it?

Wistrel

I cant comment toward your question, but i will say calypso has a very mature population, so bad behavior prob wont be as much of issue to what WoW was having

I cant comment toward your question, but i will say calypso has a very mature population, so bad behavior prob wont be as much of issue to what WoW was having

I've had NO experience with WoW at all, so I can't comment there. But with a real cash economy, EU does have a fair share of "bad behavior". Fortunately, we have a very astute population and I doubt too many people would get away with concealing their ingame vs forum identity for too long.

I heard a story that this recently happened on World of Warcraft's forums. ie the game company decided to associate everyone's forum accounts with their game accounts and publish private information publicly such as real life identities alongside forum posts.

As I understand it, the reasoning was to put a stop to bad behavior...

It was never a concern when the main forum was run by players but now FPC run the show, this could in theory happen.

I'd like to ask FPC, will it?

Wistrel

They did not go ahead with the plan though.