How would you feel ?

Hi Cirrus

Thanks for sharing your concerns. I read your OP and some of the comments.

I think I understand what you are feeling, and I think I understand what MA's employer responded.

If I would have gotten the same response from MA, I might have felt offended as well. This is because their question can give the impression of an insult or even an accusation. People who are used to 'read between the lines', may read something like: "did you wait so long since you wanted to profit from it yourself", rather then "may we ask why you waited..."

I am absolutely sure that this was not MA's intention. The question can be understood in another way as well: "we are curious how it comes that the matter has not been brought to our attention earlier."
In my personal case that would probably be, because I have a lot to do and didn't bother reporting it sooner. I'm not a game developer, when I log in, I often won't bother with bug reporting, I just want to relax and get away from real life for a couple of hours.

Personally I learned to take reactions from others with a grain of salt, sleep on it, let it be for some time, and look at it from other perspectives before I answer. Anger often is caused by misunderstandings. Sometimes the message comes over differently, than what the sender intended. From our own perspective, things may look rude or harsh, while that was not the intention whatsoever from the sender. The art of tactfulness is not one of the easiest to master.

About the ToU statements... they are clearly intended so that people will not abuse unintented game benefits, and instead report them. This is because bugs/exploits can easily ruin a RCE game.