For Traders, simple "[..]" square brackets deleter in Copy Item Link

Burenka

Young
I play EU for a while, and I often use Auction. I do some trading daily. I need to find something in Auction, and typing the items' names might be extremely annoying if you need to do that like 10 times a day. So, well, I use the "Copy Item Link" button a lot. But whenever you paste the copied name into the Search field in Auction, it pastes like this: [Standard Plate], [Robot Weapon Grip], etc.

with these [...] square brackets in the first and last symbols. This is a cool feature when you need to send the link in the chat, but, well, not that great if you need it for Auction Search. Because a sequence of "click->Home->Delete->End->BackSpace->Enter", to remove them, frankly again could be annoying if you need to do that 10-20 per use, like hundreds of times per day.

I'm not a Software Engineer, but I finally put some time into creating a simple application (all merit to ChatGPT thing, which can make you do things like that). So now I am happy to share this simple application. Just download, unpack, and run (should work okay in Windows 10, 11). When you need to fix brackets, just hit CTRL-SHIFT-F, this will turn it ON. And when it is ON, whenever you copy something [with square brackets], it will delete those brackets on paste.
  1. Here is https://github.com/DanTarBu/MAtools/blob/main/copy-paste-fixer.py code, so you can compile it yourself. Also, you can find a zip-archive (split into 3 parts, due to GitHub restrictions of 25 MB file size).
  2. Here is a screenshot of the interface: https://github.com/DanTarBu/MAtools/blob/main/copypastefixer.jpg
  3. and here is the link for direct download: https://data40.com/arch/copy-paste-fixer.zip
Hope you enjoy it the same as I. Good luck in trading.

Maybe MA could just add this feature in auctionhouse?

When you'd post item links to Auction house text field, brackets would be removed.