Help: how does decay work mining?

swampymonster

Old Alpha
Society
Gunslingers
Lil Swampy Monster
Hello,

My name is swampy and I am new to being a depositer. I have fallen in love with mining and I want to know how to be more efficient.

Question 1: does eco on finder matter? Or is decay from finder factored into the yield value of my find?

Question 2: what is the best economy excavator ? Looks like demonic excavator from entropedia. Is that correct?

That's it for now thanks

I do not believe that finder decay is returned in loot, so yes it matters which finder you use. Deeper finders tend to have more decay per drop, with some exceptions (like F-106).

The demonic excavator is very slow, intended for rookie claims I think. As I understand it, efficiency is proportional the number of stones it brings up per pull, so efficiency per pec would be the "eco" of excavators. There are reasons for using other excavators (mobs, pvp, large claims) but in general if you're mining unamped you'll want to use the TT excavator. I believe all the planets currently have a very efficient excavator in the TT.

For a beginner I would suggest using TT extractor, for most part you won't need anything bigger unless you go amped foma/hell/underground mining.

I didn't know some excavators pull more stones than others.

So the md-50 looks like a good choice for a finder? I would save 1.20 per per 100 drops vs my f105

I didn't know some excavators pull more stones than others.

So the md-50 looks like a good choice for a finder? I would save 1.20 per per 100 drops vs my f105

Sure it does look like your saving 1.20 ped per 100 drops. But one should not only look at the decay. You should also consider its "Range", "Depth" as well as "Markup" of the finder.

The MD-50 is an old-time finder so only a limited few of them exists. If your planning to get one, expect to pay a pretty dime (hefty price) for it.