Info: Mining Newbie Help

Hatter

Young
Zondarius Zondar Cramtun
So, I'm a newbie and am having a blast mining. (pun intended :yay:)

I've read just about every tutorial, guide, and all the information I can get my hands on... but it all seems to be a bit limited and doesn't go very in depth.

I understand the basic principles of mining. But, what I'm looking for is something a little bit more in depth. I recently have come across a post here with a mining tracker and someone mentioned another mining tracker. What is the best mining tracker out there? I am really in need of something and am having trouble remembering where I found what, and what spots are good and what spots are garbage.

Also, I've had this idea of using my Rookie Finder to find new spots. Not to actually gain anything of course, but to see if an area actually contains ore before using my F-101 on the area. Is this a feasible idea? Or are the results not related? (I will upgrade to the 102 as soon as I find another Sizable++)

Another thing I've come across, is the whole skill system of what each skill means when it gains a point. Mostly, I've found this to be absolutely completely garbage. If I hit a spot like that, I tend to mark out areas and do the whole thing. It's not very often that I actually find anything in those areas. I've wasted more probes looking for those spots than anything else. Should I forget them and look for the claims?

If there are any more tips that you would like to share, that would be much appreciated too!

Thanks!

I've read just about every tutorial, guide, and all the information I can get my hands on... but it all seems to be a bit limited and doesn't go very in depth.

You did most important thing already, that is very good!