Question for VISA/Mastercard depositors

Rumsponge

Elite
Ben Rumsponge Rumson
Several months ago, I had to update my VISA information because my expiration date changed. This is the same card with the same account numbers that I have been using since I started playing, and I have updated it successfully before.

The only way I could find to update the expiration date was to remove it, and then re-add it with the new info. Things were fine for a while, with only a small glitch one weekend. Eventually, though, it quit working permanently. I filed a support case and MA blamed it on their "security system" and suggested I try using a different card. I haven't really bothered, because I've had other things to do. But, it seems like a fair amount of other people have also had this problem.

So, here's my question-

Has anyone successfully updated or added a VISA or Mastercard since last September?

I only ask because I'm trying to figure out the rest of the story. I'm wondering if there is some common element here. The card I use is a VISA debit card and I know that my financial institution uses an intermediary bank for processing incoming funds transfers from overseas. I have to use a different bank when I make withdrawls. One of these days, I'll try adding that card to my account and see if it works.

Mostly, I am curious as to why MA has not bothered to fix the issue yet.

You may recall that in 2011, MA implemented 3-D Secure for card transactions.

I'm wondering if that's related to your issue.

At the time they said:
...Accounts with newly registered cards: How deposits are made depends on whether the card is verified or not, see above bullets. From now on, the registration of a new card has to be carried out via the Entropia Universe website...
https://www.planetcalypsoforum.com/...205799-Entropia-Universe-11-5-6-Release-Notes

If your card isn't Verified by Visa or whatever, perhaps that might be something to consider?