Some ideas about mining

DevAng

Alpha
Society
Freelancer to the end ;)
Sinful DevAng Angel
Since something happended to me while I was mining , I started to do a little thinking about how deposit sizes and how much you can get out of them are calculated, as well as how skills and tools help in that matter.

So I came up with this theory :scratch:
I would like to hear the opinion of other experienced miners (since I have little experience) and see what you think :)

It's about how is calculated how much you can take out of a deposit depending on the skills of who prints the claim for that deposit (for what I have seen , the moment when you print the claim is when those calculations are made).

Many discussions on how tools are important or not, I believe they really make a diference. I don't think MA would put so many different tools in the game if they didn't had any diference between them (except for the obvious decay and reload time).

I think that in the moment you print a claim it's calculate the number of pulls that you can make from that deposit. A deposit has a number associated with it that refers to it's size and it would be crossed with the player's skills to get to the number of pulls you would be able to make.

So some of your skills (perhaps those like Geology, Surveing etc) as well as the finder tool you used helped to determine the amounts of pulls you could do. The finder you use (MF-102 , OF-103 , whatever...) would also be important , in my opinion they could have a skill modifier just like lasers and scopes that could help you to be able to make a couple of more pulls from that deposit. ;) Then using the tt value of the ore and stones per pull were used to determine the name of the deposit.