The future of computing (and game engines)

Legends

Elite
Society
Dirty Dingos
Inherent Marxus Legends
This is a topic that comes up from time to time, like for example in recent AMAs and also in Suggestion threads. I thought I'd share my perspective on this and invite others to also share theirs. I'm not by any means a computer programmer or software/game developer, but I am tech savvy and I can generally follow a conversation about computers and their evolution over time since I have been using them since the mid-1990s.

Back in my late teens I was working for a printing company and learned to do Desktop Publishing. The tool of the trade at the time was Macintosh Power PCs. If I remember I was working off of a Power PC 9600. I have to admit that back then, I was a bit confused as to why we were using Macintosh for this since PCs generally had Intel chips in them with faster clock speeds. It wasn't until the early 2000s that I actually took it upon myself to do the research to find out why that was.

Superscalar Architecture:
Apple, IBM and Motorola had joined forces in the early 90s to create their own CPUs based on their needs and what they thought was best. To them, what held the most promise in the long term was this Superscalar architecture where the internal clock of the CPU has more than 1 slot and therefore is able to accomplish several operations with each revolution as opposed to Intel's x86 chips which could only perform 1. This meant that although Macintosh's Power PCs had slower clock speeds, they often were actually faster than PCs with Intel chips since they could perform 2 and sometimes 3 operations per clock revolution.