Help for university project

Weazley

Hatchling
Hi my name is Louise, and i'm a university student who is doing a research project on Males and Females in online gaming. I am looking for people to answer a couple of small questions below and a few people more interested in helping me by answering some more indepth questions. Your answers below will be used only for statistical purposes, except those who wish you provide longer more detailed replies.

nb. if you don't feel comfortable or don't want to write replies, please do as much as you can even just small answers because every bit helps!

1) [if not in your sidebar details] Are you male or female in real life?
2) [if not in your sidebar] Are you male or female in game?
3) Was there any reason you chose one over the other?
4) Do you feel there is discrimination towards males and/or females in online gaming [in general, not specifically in entropia]?
5) Why do you think people choose genders which are not their real life ones?
6) Would you be interested in allowing me an in-depth interview (probably conducted through email or msn)?

Thank you very much for helping!

1) In the Side-bar

2) In the Side-bar

3) Was there any reason you chose one over the other?

No other reason that I was actually male myself. It was just "normal" to me to chose a male avatar.

4) Do you feel there is discrimination towards males and/or females in online gaming [in general, not specifically in entropia]?

The only online-game I play where you can see if the person is a male or female (avatar) is Entropia. I don't believe there is discrimination. Although you will find some male avatars being "friendlier" with female avatars.

5) Why do you think people choose genders which are not their real life ones?