PlanetCalypsoForum.com :: Entropia Universe Discussion and Resources
Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 84
  1. #11
    Same issue here, yes I also have Nvidia graphic card although a bit older :/

  2. #12
    Old Alpha
    Joined
    Oct 2008
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Avatar
    Virtulex vix Turbulence
    Posts
    1,034
    Images
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by Ace Flyster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Same problem here, d3d error

    Rgds

    Ace
    Same here, but it started only after todays patch, before I could normally launch the game.
    video card: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series

  3. #13
    Elite Ace Flyster's Avatar
    Joined
    Aug 2006
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    England, London
    Avatar
    Dave Ace Flyster
    Society
    Rangers
    Posts
    4,941
    Images
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by virtulex View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Same here, but it started only after todays patch, before I could normally launch the game.
    video card: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Today's patch, screwed it for me as well!!

    Rgds

    Ace
    2nd published novel: 'The Shadow Grounds'
    1st published novel: 'The Eyes of the Devil'
    Book 3 - Working Title 'The Meeting of Worlds' - 25%
    Book 4 - Sci-Fi Book - No title yet - 10%

  4. #14
    Young
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Avatar
    Georgi Inqubus Sveshtarov
    Society
    Freelancer
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Mega View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Do all people having this issue have Nvidia graphics?

    Some more details about hardware \ driver version may help Mindark find out what is causing this issue.
    yes I use GeForce GTS 250 and I had no problem till today's patch.

  5. #15
    Old Alpha
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    Austria
    Avatar
    Edward MrEddie James
    Society
    SHOOT N LOOT
    Posts
    814
    Images
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Inqubus View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    yes I use GeForce GTS 250 and I had no problem till today's patch.
    do you have a special Direct X11 version card ? as in the specs of the card i only see DX10 supported ?

    https://www.cnet.com/products/xfx-ge...512-mb-series/

    https://www.evga.com/products/specs/...A-1CCD73C35259

    although hard to tell with only one or none error message....like other ppl use notebook-graphic cards and have also issues (but they have other problems as yours in this case)

    Hope you find the issue...

    Eddie

  6. #16
    Guardian Solo4711's Avatar
    Joined
    May 2012
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Avatar
    Alex Solo Solo
    Society
    Freelancer
    Posts
    294
    Images
    46
    the error basically tells that the direct 3d renderer tries to open the application but cant find any proper graphics card to run it.

    uninstall eu will much likely not help.

    The rendering API now uses Microsoft DirectX 11, which requires Windows Vista or later. Windows XP is no longer supported.

    So you need:
    A Windows Version above Windows XP
    DirectX 11 capable Hardware

    - Check your laptop and graphics card model for DirectX 11 support on the manufacturers website.
    if your graphics card wont support DirectX 11 its time to upgrade your hardware.

    If it supports DirectX 11:
    - install latest driver of graphics card manufacturer

    The error is also very likely to happen to people with more than one monitor plugged into a laptop or pc specially using vga connector ports.

    if the laptop/pc configuration has more than 1 graphics card inside, it can be the external vga port is configurated for the internal graphics card which much likely wont support dx11 and above on older laptops.

    - check the graphics card assignment in your laptops or pcs for the vga connector ports. the graphics card supporting dx11 is to be assigned to the external ports or internal display if you use that.
    Last edited by Solo4711; 12-11-2019 at 00:32.

  7. #17
    Guardian Max Hec's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 2016
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Avatar
    Max Hec Walker
    Posts
    350
    Images
    12
    Here's 4 possible fixes to try, usually one of them worked with other games.

    This Assumes your Anti-Virus or whatever 3rd party protection software's that you use is not screwing up your actual downloads of EU files, or video drivers... (Yes that is still a problem in this day and age.)
    And also assumes that no one needs to run the game as an administrator...

    This "failed to create D3D device" lol its been several years since that reared its ugly head.
    That was a big issue for other games but mostly for anyone who updated Win7 or Win8.x to Win10.
    Later on MS released a Win10 patch that removed OEM drivers with Microsoft generic driver, the OEM updates would not correct it, and MS fix it wouldn't fix it either.


    FIRST:
    We will check the installed drivers are Nvidia and not Amd/Intel/Microsoft generic garbage/etc.


    Right-click desktop, choose New > Shortcut > "devmgmt.msc" > name = "Device Manager"
    (You want to open it another way [windows search, Control Panel], no problem, just do it.)

    Open Device Manager
    - Click "Display adapters".
    - At top of Device Manager program is a menu bar click View > Show hidden devices
    - "Display adapters" should show all installed video card drivers, and (no faint gray icons) none hidden...

    - Double-Click the driver you want to update (or right-click and choose "Properties".)
    ie. "Microsoft Basic Display Adapter Driver", or "NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080", etc.

    - See 4 tabs click "Driver".
    - Click "Update Driver" button.
    - Now the correct AMD/NVidia/etc driver should be downloaded and installed.

    Launch the game, and if it works don't forget to re-enable Anti-Virus if you needed to disable it.


    SECOND:
    Manually download your video card drivers, then install them
    NVidia https://www.geforce.com/drivers
    AMD https://www.amd.com/en/support
    Note some video cards are very OEM specific and you must go to their website instead.
    For example: MSI R9 270 Gaming 2G
    And good luck with intel drivers, I avoid them like the plague.


    THIRD:
    Double-check your desktop's resolution...........
    Ensure it is not set for a resolution your GPU, or game, can not display.

    - Right-click empty spot on desktop
    - click "Display Settings" (or use that term in windows search)
    - Ensure "Scale and layout" is at 100%
    - Change "Display resolution" here
    Note: As soon as you change it, the new setting is automatically saved and applied by windows.


    Suggest trying a lower desktop resolution but keep same Ratio scale, note Wiki has color coded scales.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_resolution

    For example if using 16:10 ratio (alias 8:5)
    2560 x 1600 resolution (first try)
    1920 x 1200 resolution
    1680 x 1050 resolution
    1440 x 900 resolution
    1280 x 800 resolution (last try)
    After changing resolution launch the game and see if it works.
    If it does not then try the next lower resolution

    There's been a few games where I've done this old trick and then could get in game again to change a graphics setting or in game resolution to get it to work at higher res again often by setting it lower ingame and saving then setting it higher ingame again afterwards and walking up the higher resolutions that my GPU could handle.



    FOURTH:
    If possible then check the game's onload resolution setting, often in a file or registry entry.
    Do this to ensure its not set out of range of your GPU.
    There's been plenty of games with updates that do that after a patch where its accidentally set to a particular devs extreme hi res settings.
    For example using Windows Explorer (= windows start search term, NOT Internet Explorer)
    Go to the following and must have view hidden items enabled

    C:\Users\Public\entropia universe\public_users_data\settings-ce.cfg
    Check these are set at your current resolution:
    For example if desktop set at 1680 x 1050 resolution then
    r_Width = 1050
    r_WidthWin = 1680

    r_WindowedFullscreen = 1
    PS. maybe change WindowedFullscreen from 0=full screen to 1=windowed and see if that helps too?

    I looked at the client loader's saved (regedit) settings and it doesn't have any resolutions saved
    But here's the expected location for these type of settings which I looked at in case I missed something.
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MindArk\Entropia Universe\


    ---

    Sorry for this super long post.
    Just dropped by to lurk for first time in a week+, seeing the current state I won't update EU until maybe the weekend when I've more time although I'm expecting another game (AGS NW) in Alpha phase 2 to drop in 2 days.
    Anyways hope one of those 4 common fixes for this old problem works for everyone who experiences it.
    Ciao!

  8. #18
    Same error here too. Im using One laptop with Windows 7 64bits, before this last patch everything das ok. If someone with the same problem solve it sucefully please tell us how, thx.

  9. #19
    Same problem, please bring a fix to this or lose 1/4 of your playerbase again...



    this since last patch, 17.0 and 17.0.1 were working without problems

  10. #20
    Old Alpha
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Gender | Ingame
    Male | Male
    Location
    Austria
    Avatar
    Edward MrEddie James
    Society
    SHOOT N LOOT
    Posts
    814
    Images
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by tryou View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Same problem, please bring a fix to this or lose 1/4 of your playerbase again...



    this since last patch, 17.0 and 17.0.1 were working without problems
    you should read the other posts in this thread.....is your graphics card supporting Direct X11 ????`

    if yes..then check drivers,frameworks,etc etc....

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Follow Planet Calypso on Twitter  Follow Planet Calypso on Facebook